“I want to see the Penguins”

20150726_104815

My little man has a love for penguins, and I want to say it conveniently happened after we went to watch the movie, Penguins of Madagascar. He loved the movie and from that day on wanted to play with his little penguin stuffed animal. It became one of his loveys.

Just the other week, we decided a trip to the Aquarium of the Pacific was needed. We had not been yet, and we wanted something to do that was mainly indoors as it was so HOT!

We live in Ventura County, a good long drive from Long Beach where the Aquarium is located, but we agreed that on a Sunday it shouldn’t be that bad. We were right, traffic was not bad.

The Aquarium had lots of people floating about that day – I guess we all had the same idea. Jayden enjoyed checking out the different fish, seals, sharks, etc. – and he was even able to touch the jellyfish, sea urchins, starfish, and other cool things in their little tide pools as we made our way outside. Once we were outside, we touched some stingrays and some baby sharks too.

20150726_114223

We finally made our way to the penguins, but I have to say I was pretty disappointed. The way it was configured was just plain wrong. It was difficult for my 3 year old to see the penguins as they were mainly hanging out at the top portion of the tank, which was about eye level for me (and I am 5’2″), maybe even slightly above me. I was hoping it would be a bit more kid friendly…

Jayden was able to get another penguin for his collection that day and did not want to let go of it, even long enough for me to take the tag off 🙂 He was super excited to tell his friends at school all about the aquarium and show off his new animal.

On to the next adventure!

Leave a Reply

