How To: Make Monkey Bread Muffins

20151026_205442

I had been seeing more and more pictures of monkey bread on my Facebook feed…. it made me want to make some of my own. The problem with monkey bread, in my opinion, is that it is a difficult treat for just 3 people because it is usually made in a Bundt pan and it always seems like too much and we end up throwing some of it away.

I decided to experiment one night making muffin sized treats that would make it easier to grab one and go for breakfast or a quick snack in the afternoon.

I started with a mini muffin tin and muffin liners (I just used what was laying around the kitchen – so mine were spring colors with flowers and stripes). Spray the pan down with some cooking spray to make it easier to remove later – I forgot this step and it was not pretty popping out 😦 Good thing this was just for the family and nobody was really going to see them. My boys didn’t seem to mind that they were a tad messy looking.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

I used three small tubes of Pillsbury biscuits cut up into quarters, a stick of butter melted, a cup and a half to two cups of brown sugar (a cup or so for rolling and about half a cup for melting), and lots and lots of ground cinnamon – just eyeball what works for your taste.

Get started rolling your biscuit pieces in the dry mix (sugar and cinnamon) while you are melting the butter and dissolving the rest of the sugar in it.

20151026_201128

Once you have all the pieces covered in the dry sugar/cinnamon mix go ahead and fill your muffin tins, but without packing them in too tight. After that, pour over the melted syrup mixture – be careful, it’s hot!

20151026_201405

Stick the pan in the oven for 13-17 minutes. Depending on your oven, the timing will vary. Mine were ready at about 12-13 minutes, so keep an eye on it! A couple of the muffins in the back were getting pretty brown. Luckily I have a hubby that likes things on more of the well done side 🙂

Let it cool to the touch and enjoy! Mine were not as gooey as I had anticipated, but then again I used paper liners so I think it soaked up some of the yummy goodness. Next time I will try foil liners or no liners at all and see how it goes. Even without as much gooey syrup, I still got the sweet effect I was going for so they were gobbled up by my family. Hubby barely waited for them to cool off before attacking the pan! 🙂

Next time, I think I will try this with a little frosting drizzled on top – I see them do that at different bakeries, and I think it would just put it over the edge!

Leave a Reply

